A summary of provisions and banned guns in Maryland as of October 1st.
• A person who owns a firearm is required to report the loss or theft of the fire ann within 72 hours of discovering the loss or theft. There is. a civil penalty for the first offence and a criminal penalty for the second offence. . . . .
• Records relating to the handgun purchases and handgun permits are NOT subject to the public information act.
• People moving to Maryland after October 1, 2013 with the intent of becoming a resident have 90 days to register their regulated firearms with the Maryland State Police. Registration Fee is $15.
• Designates 45 Rifles as "Assault Long Guns" including the AR-15, SKS, as well as any of their "copycats" and Bans the sale of these firearms effective October 1, 2013. (See Attached)
• A "Copycat" weapon is defined as a center fire, semiautomatic rifle with detachable magazine that has two or more of the following features
• Folding stock
• Grenade or flare launcher
• Flash suppressor
• A copycat also includes
• A semiautomatic centerfire rifle that has a fixed magazine with a capacity of more than 10 rounds
• A semiautomatic pistol with a fixed magazine that can accept more than 10 rounds
• A semiautomatic shotgun that has a folding stock
• A shotgun with a revolving cylinder
• This bill is NOT retroactive. If you currently own one of these firearms, or purchase prior to October l: 2013you can continue to possess your firearm. In addition, these firearms can continue to be passed on through inheritance provided the heir is not otherwise disqualified from possessing a regulated firearm.
• If you order a banned firearm prior to October 1, 2013, but do not receive your firearm before that date, you may still take possession after October 1, 2013.
• Active and retired law enforcement officers, as well as active military personnel over age 21, are exempt from the provisions and restrictions of this bill Magazine Capacity and Ammunition
• Effective October 1, 2013 magazine size for all firearms is restricted to 10 rounds or less. The purchase, transfer or sale of higher capacity magazines is prohibited.
• This bill is NOT Retroactive. If you currently possess a large capacity magazine, you may continue to do so.
• Bans a person from possessing any ammunition if they are disqualified from possessing a regulated firearm (by virtue of a criminal conviction, drug or alcohol abuse, is a fugitive from justice or suffers from mental disorder).
• Active and retired law enforcement officers as well as active military personnel over age 21 are EXEMPT from the provisions and restrictions of this bill.
• In order to purchase a handgun after October 1, 2013 you must apply to the Maryland state police for a handgun qualification license.
• To receive the license, you must complete a firearms Orientation Course consisting of 4 hours of classroom and range training covering state firearms law, home firearms safety, as well as handgun mechanisms and operations. The range component includes orientation specific to the firearms involving safe handling.
• The coast of the initial licensing, fingerprinting, and background check is paid by the applicant and is estimated to be over $100.
• The course is a one-time only requirement for the initial application.
• You DO NOT have to take the training course if any of the following apply:
• You have completed a Maryland State Police (MSP) approved certified safety course
• You have completed the Department of Natural Resources hunter safety course
• You are currently a qualified handgun instructor
• You are an honorably discharged member of the Armed forces or National Guard
• You are an employee of an armored car company who has a handgun permit issued by the MSP
• You lawfully own a regulated firearm. If you already own a regulated firearm you DO NOT have to complete the training to apply for the handgun purchase license. (Title 5, Subtitle 3 of the Public Safety Article.)
• To receive the license, you must submit a full set of digital fingerprints and undergo a full background check.
• Once issued, the license is good for 10 years and you are not required to take additional training courses or submit fingerprints when you apply to renew the license. The renewal fee is $20.
• You DO NOT need a license if you already own a handgun or an assault rifle. You ONLY need the license if you are going to purchase a handgun after October 1, 2013.
• Active and retired Military and police are exempt from the Handgun Qualification License requirements but must show valid credentials to the dealer to purchase.
• Manufacturers and persons purchasing an antique, curio, or relic are also exempt from license requirements.
Firearms Safety Act of 2013
List of 45 Banned Firearms
(Effective as of Oct. 1, 2013)
1. American Arms Spectre da Semiautomatic carbine
2. AK 47 in all forms
3. AlgimecAGM 1 type semi-auto
4. AR 100 type semi-auto
5. AR 180 type semi auto
6. Argentine L.S.R. semi-auto
7. Australian Automatic Arms SAR type semi-auto
8. Auto-Ordnance Thompson Ml and 1927 semi-automatics
9. Barrett light .50 cal. semi-auto
10. Beretta AR70 type semi-auto
11. Bushmaster semi-auto rifle
12. Calico models M-I00 and M-900
13. CIS SR 88 type semi-auto
14. Claridge HI TEC C-9 carbines
15. Colt AR-15, CAR-I 5, and all imitations except Colt AR-I5 4 Sporter H-BAR rifle
16. Daewoo MAX 1 and MAX 2, aka AR 100, 110C, K-l, and 6K-2
17. Dragunov Chinese made semi-auto
18. Famas semi-auto (.223 caliber)
19. Feather AT-9 semi-auto
20. FN LAR and FN FAL assault rifle
21. FNC semi-auto type carbine
22. F.I.E.lFranchi LAW 12 and SPAS 12 assault shotgun
23. Steyr-AUG-SA semi-auto
24. Galil models AR and ARM semi-auto
25. Heckler and Koch HK-91 A3, HK-93 A2, HK-94 A2 and A3
26. Holmes model 88 shotgun
27. Avtomat Kalashnikov semiautomatic rifle in any format
28. Manchester Arms "Commando" MK-45, MK-9
29. Mandell TAC-l semi-auto carbine
30. Mossberg model 500 Bullpup assault shotgun
31. Sterling Mark 6
32. P.A.W.S. carbine
33. Ruger mini-14 folding stock model (.223 caliber)
34. SIG 5501551 assault rifle (.223 caliber)
35. SKS with detachable magazine
36. AP-74 Commando type semi-auto
37. Springfield Armory BM-59, SAR-48, G3, SAR-3, 4M-2I sniper rifle, MIA, excluding
the MI Garand
38. Street sweeper assault type shotgun
39. Striker 12 assault shotgun in all formats
40. Unique F11 semi-auto type
41. Daewoo USAS 12 semi-auto shotgun
42. UZI 9mm carbine or rifle
43. Valmet -76 and M78 semi-auto
44. Weaver Arms "Nighthawk" semi-auto carbine
45. Wilkinson Arms 9mm semi-auto "Terry"
Frederick County Legislative Delegation
DELEGATE KATHY AFZALI
fax: (410) 841-3184, (301) 858-3184
KELLY M. SCHULZ
1-800-492-7122, ext. 3080 (toll free)
fax: (410) 841-3028, (301) 858-3028
MICHAEL J. HOUGH
1-800-492-7122, ext. 3472 (toll free)
e-mail: michaeI.firstname.lastname@example.org. tis
PATRICK N. HOGAN
Maryland State Resources
Department of Maryland State Police
1201 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, Maryland 21208
Phone: (410) 653.4200
Maryland Department of Public Safety
and Correctional Services
Second Amendment Allies
The Maryland Shall Issue The Citizens' Defense League of Maryland
The National Rifle Association
Maryland State Rifle and Pistol Association
Associated Gun Clubs of Baltimore, Inc.