Most open burning prohibited until after Aug. 31st.
There is a ban on open burning in Frederick County and other surrounding jurisdictions between June 1st and August 31st. That means no Open Burning permits will be issued at that time, and no burning permits may be used during that period.
The ban was first instituted in 1995 by Maryland State Air Quality regulations, and is designed to reduce the ozone level in the Metropolitan Washington Region. Weather conditions do not influence the ban, says a statement from the Frederick County Health Department.
This prohibition does not apply to small recreational fires such as campfires, barbeques or gas grills.
Other the times of the year, the Health Department says an Open Burning permit is needed for anyone who wants to do some outside burning. Contact the Environmental Health Office at 350 Montevue Lane for more information.
Violators of the Open Burning Ban could be fined up to $500 in Frederick County, and $25 under Maryland State Regulations.