Frederick’s Charter Review Committee Set To Begin Its Work

The Mayor has announced the formation of the 11-member committee.

(Photo from the City of Frederick)

Frederick, Md (KM) Frederick Mayor Michael O’Connor has announced the formation of an 11-person Charter Review Committee. The panel will look at the city’s governing document regarding elected official structure, composition and membership, along with organizational structure, rules and procedures, compensation and frequency of review.

“TheĀ  committee has extremely important work that lies ahead over the next six months in reviewing the City’s governing document,” says Mayor O’Connor, in a statement. “I am pleased by the interest we received from the public and believe we have selected a group of people with wide breadth and depth of knowledge, fully capable of completing the task. I look forward to seeing the committee’s recommendations that will ultimately come before the Board of Aldermen.”

The members of the committee are:

Marvin Ausherman
John Funderburk
Stuart Harvey
Megan Kirk
Tom Lynch
Andrea Mayer
Melissa Muntz
Ron Peppe
Jim Racheff
Robert Van Rens
Ashley Waters

The Committee will hold its first meeting on Thursday, January 5th at 1:00 PM at City Hall. The meetings will be open to the public. They will also be recorded and uploaded to the city’s website at

By Kevin McManus