MML Elects New President

He’s a Frederick County elected official.


Ocean City, Md (KM) A Frederick County elected official has been named President of the Board of Directors of the Maryland Municipal League. New Market Councilman Jake Romanell   was elected to the position on Wednesday at the M-M-L’s convention in Ocean City. . He will serve in the position in 2017-2018.

The MML Summer Conference began on Sunday, and wrapped up on Wednesday. Representatives from 131 of Maryland’s 157 municipalities were in attendance.

Members also elected other officers to the MML Board of Directors, including 11 District Vice Presidents. One of them is Frederick Mayor Randy McClement. Others are Union Bridge Mayor Perry Jones, Boonsboro Council member Brigitte Smith and Gaithersburg Council member Ryan Spiegel.

The MML also picked Bridget Donnell Newton, the Mayor of Rockville, as President-Elect. She will take over as President of the MML board next year.

Former Frederick Mayor and current State Senator Ron Young was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the MML. He served as President of the Maryland Municipal League 1977-1978 when he was Mayor of Frederick.


By Kevin McManus