90 High School Seniors In Md. Receive Van Hollen Public Service Award

Six are from Frederick County.



Washington (KM) Six Frederick County high school seniors have received the Van Hollen Public Service Award.

In a statement, Senator Chris Van Hollen says this honor is presented to students who show a high level of commitment to public and community service. He also says these students are dedicated to making a positive change in their community, state or nation.

“Just as we recognize student who perform well academically or athletically, student who are committed to serving others deserve public recognition and commendation,” says Van Hollen, in a statement from his office. “These students have shown dedication to serving their communities and I’m proud to honor their work. I look forward to seeing the things these young men and women accomplish in the years ahead.”

The winners are:


Avie Marie Hopcraft,  Catoctin High School,  Thurmont, MD

Abbe Pannucci,  Middletown High School,  Middletown, MD

Jennifer Murray,  Oakdale High School,  Ijamsville, MD

Robert Velte,  Saint John’s Catholic Prep,  Buckeystown, MD

Paul Silas Kirkpatrick,  Tuscarora High School,  Frederick, MD

Rachel Main,  Urbana High School,  Ijamsville, MD

Emily Hadigian,  Barbara Ingram School for the Arts,  Hagerstown, MD

Deborah Aquino,  Washington County Technical High School,  Hagerstown, MD

Kalee A. Boor,  Williamsport High School,  Williamsport, MD

Matthew Taejoon Yi,  Century High School,  Sykesville, MD

Caprina Smithl  Liberty High School,  Eldersburg, MD

Danica Grimes,  Winters Mill High School,  Westminster, MD

Korryn Kahn Hart,  Westminster High School,  Westminster, MD

Christopher Lynn Summers,  Silver Oak Academy,  Keymar, MD

Kristen L. Musselman,  South Carroll High School,  Sykesville, MD


Senator Van Hollen says a total of 90 students across Maryland were recipients of this award.

The Awards were launched in 2004 when Van Hollen was a member of the House of Representatives. Since he was elected to the US Senate, the Awards have been expanded to include the entire state of Maryland.


By Kevin McManus