Governor Appoints Six Members To Emergency Commission On 6th District

The appointees were two Republicans, two Democrats, and two unaffiliated voters.


Annapolis, Md (KM) Governor Larry Hogan has appointed six people to a commission which will redraw Maryland’s Sixth Congressional District. They are Maury Epner, Deborah Lundahl, Christopher Howard, Luis Gutierrez, Matthew Douglas and Kathleen Tabor.   Epner and Lundahl are registered Republicans; Howard and Gutierrez are registered as Democrats; and Douglas and Tabor are unaffiliated.

These individuals were named after a review of more than 300 citizens applicants..

The Governor announced the creation of the commission in November following a federal court ruling ordering the state to redraw the district. At that time, he named Judge Alexander Williams and Walter Oleson as co-chairs of the Commission., and Ashley Olson as a member. Williams is a registered Democrat; Walter Oleson is registered Republican; and Ashley Olson is an unaffiliated voter.

Almost ten years ago, under then-Governor Martin O’Malley (D), all of Maryland’s congressional districts were redrew.. The 6th District included parts of Frederick and Montgomery Counties, along with Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties. The Republicans accused O’Malley of redrawing the 6th District to favor Democrats, and to defeat long time GOP: Representative Roscoe Bartlett.

Bartlett lost his re-election bid in 2012 to Democrat John Delaney. He had served in that seat since 1993.

The Governor’s Office says the Emergency Commission on the 6th Congressional District Gerrymandering is charged with developing new boundaries in an open and transparent manner which addresses all constitutional violations.

Congressional districts across the country  could be redrawn following the 2020 Census.


By Kevin McManus