Snow Emergency Plan For Frederick County In Effect

The plan went into effect at 12 AM December 11, 2019

The Maryland State Police at Frederick Barrack “B” report that due to current weather and road conditions, the Snow Emergency Plan for Frederick County will be implemented at 12:00 AM on 12/11/2019.

The following highways have been designated as Snow Emergency Routes in Frederick County:

U.S. Route 15

U.S. Route 15 (Business)

U.S. Route 40

U.S. Route 40 (Alternate)

U.S. Route 340

MD Route 17

MD Route 26

MD Route 27

MD Route 28

MD Route 31

MD Route 75

MD Route 76

MD Route 79

MD Route 80

MD Route 85

MD Route 140

MD Route 144FA

MD Route 180

MD Route 194

Interstate 70

Interstate 270

Once the Snow Emergency Plan has been placed in effect, Maryland Law requires motorists to operate vehicles that are equipped with snow tires as designated by the manufacturer or equipped with chains. Studded tires are allowed from November 1 through March 31.

During the declaration of a snow emergency, a person may not park a vehicle on any highway designated as a snow emergency route.