Frederick City Annexation Given Okay By County Council

It would allow 8.52-acres to come into the city to be developed.                                                   


Frederick, Md (KM) Frederick city can begin the zoning and development of property it recently annexed thanks to a vote Tuesday by the County Council.

In a 6-1 vote, the Council found the city’s proposed R-8 zoning on the 8.52-acre Lupcho property to be substantially different from the county’s R-1 zoning. But allowed the city to go forward with the zoning and development of the parcel.

R-1 allows one dwelling per acre. R-8 allows eight dwellings  per acre.

The property, which is in  an enclave within city of Frederick, is located along Grove Hill Road close to the WFMD and WFRE studios. Plans are to build 68 townhomes on the site.

Council President MC Keegan-Ayer voted in opposition. “We shouldn’t be approving development if we know right up front it’s going overcrowd the schools,” she said. “I realize they have the option to pay the mitigation fee, and I would strongly suggest that they do that.  . But,  at this point, I cannot vote to deliberately overcrowd schools in my district.”

Under local Adequate Public Facilities Ordinances, a developer’s project cannot proceed if it’s projected to overcrowd schools. But rather than wait until school capacity catches up, a developer could pay a mitigation fee which would be used to increase school size to accommodate the new growth. Then the developer would be allowed to continue building.


In other action, the Council approved 11 members to the newly formed Sustainable Monocacy Commission. The panel will offer advice and recommendations on how to inmove the health of the Monocacy River.

The members who have property adjacent to the Monocacy River are Matt Moran, whose term expires June 30th, 2023, and Glen Dunham,  whose term expires on June 30th, 2024.

Members who do not reside on property contiguous to the River are R. Gary Magnuson, whose term expires in June 30th, 2023, and Kimberly Stewart, who term expires on June 30th, 2024.

The representative from the agricultural community is Bill Allen, whose term expires on June 30th, 2023.

The three individuals with backgrounds in biology, ecology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental education, natural resources or related fields are Peter Sicilia, Jr., whose term expires on June 30th, 2023, Andrew Celmer, whose term expires on June 30th, 2024, and Charlies Erickson II, whose term expires on June 30th, 2024

The one member from the general public is Alonnie “Lonnie” Ropp, whose term expires on June 30th, 2024.

Elected officials on the Commission are Frederick Alderman Roger Wilson, whose term expires on June 30th, 2022, and County Councilman Jerry Donald, whose term expires June 30th, 2022.

The two elected officials are non-voting members.

“Our office did advertise, and received ten letters of interest,” said Joyce Grossnickle, Administrative Officer in the Office of the County Executive.




Finally, the Council elected its President and Vice President for 2020–2022. MC Keegan-Ayer was voted in for another term as President, and Michael Blue was chosen continue as Vice President.


By Kevin McManus.