Thurmont Elects Two Commissioners

There was an 11% turnout

Thurmont, MD – Two commissioner seats were up for grabs in the town of Thurmont’s election on Tuesday.

The five candidates who ran for the positions were Elliot Jones, Sabrina Massett, Kennth “Kenny” Oland and the commissioners running for re-election Bill Bueher and Wes Hamrick.

Thurmont Mayor John Kinnaird said 1,022 votes were cast during the election day.

“It’s just over 11%,” Kinnaird said. “Which is really a sad state of affairs, especially for a race that is contested.”

Bueher received 212 votes and Hamrick received 379, winning the election and seats on the board.

The re-elections mean a second term for as commissioner Hamrick and a third term for Bueher.

Commissioners have no term limits and make $8,000 annually.

Kinnaird said the board will hope to tackle infrastructure issues in Thurmont by lobbying to have Highway User Revenue funds restored which were previously cut by the state.

“I think streets and other infrastructures continue to be some of the biggest priority issues we face as elected officials,” he said. “Governor Hogan promised us 80% of our previous HUR funds. He’s lived up to his promise so we would like to see 100% of it returned.”

Re-elected commissioners will be sworn in next Tuesday at the 7 p.m. board meeting.

Those interested in watching the ceremony can attend the meeting which is open to the public or stream the meeting at

By Timothy Young