Walkersville Holds Special Election Monday For Vacant Commissioner Seat

Five residents running for office

Walkersville, Md. (DG) – Walkersville residents head to the polls on Monday to fill a vacant commissioner seat.

Five people are running, including former commissioner Michael McNiesh. He had to forfeit his seat on the town commission last year, per the town charter, after he had too many unexcused absences.

The other candidates running for office are Duane Musselman, David Toohey, Betsey Whitmore Bannen, and Jason Bryant.

Voting will take place at the Town Hall from 11 AM to 7 PM. The winner of Monday’s election will serve a three year term.